COOK, THOMAS H., 1947-


Writer. Born– September 19, 1947, Fort Payne. Parents– Virgil Richard and Myrick (Harper) Cook. Married– Susan Terner, March 17, 1978. Children– One. Education– Georgia State College, B.A., 1969; Hunter College of the City University of New York, M.A. 1972; Columbia University, Master of Philosophy, 1976. Advertising executive for U.S. Industrial Chemicals in New York City, 1970 to 1972; clerk typist for the Association for Help of Retarded Adults in New York City, 1973-1975; teacher of English and history at Dekalb Community College in Georgia, 1978-1981; book review editor for Atlanta magazine, 1978-82. Full time writer after 1981. Published work in many journals and anthologies. Edited several editions of the Best American Crime Writing and the Best American Crime Reporting.  Member Authors Guild, Authors League of America.  Awarded the Hammett Prize by the International Association of Crime Writers, 1995; Edgar Allan Poe Award, 1996; Barry Award, 2006, and Martin Beck Award, 1996.


Contemporary Authors online


Blood Echoes:  The True Story of an Infamous Mass Murder and Its Aftermath.  New York:  Dutton, 1992.

Blood Innocents. New York; Playboy Press, 1980.

Breakheart Hill.  New York:  Bantam, 1995.

The Chatham School Affair.  New York:  Bantam, 1996.

The City When it Rains. New York; Putnam, 1991.

The Cloud of Unknowing.  Orlando:  Harcourt, 2007.

The Crime of Julian Wells.  New York:  Mysterious Press, 2011.

A Dancer in the Dust.  New York:  Mysterious Press, 2014.

Early Graves; a Shocking True-Crime Story of the Youngest Woman Ever Sentenced to Death Row. New York; Dalton, 1990.

Elena. Boston; Houghton, 1984.

Evidence of Blood. New York; Putnam, 1991.

The Fate of Katherine Carr.  Boston:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2009.

Fatherhood and Other Stories.  Cambridge, UK:  Pegasus Press, 2014.

Flesh and Blood. New York; Putnam, 1989.

Instruments of Night.  New York: Bantam, 1998.

The Interrogation.  New York;  Bantam, 2002.

Into the Web.  New York:  Bantam, 2004.

The Last Talk with Lola Faye.  Boston:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010.

Master of the Delta.  Orlando:  Harcourt, 208.

Mortal Memory.  New York:  G.P.Putnam’s Sons, 1993.

Night Secrets. New York; Putnam, 1990.

The Orchids. Boston; Houghton, 1982.

Peril.  New York;  Bantam, 2004.

Places in the Dark.  New York:  Bantam, 2000.

The Quest for Anna Klein.  Boston:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011.

Red Leaves. Orlando:  Harcourt, 2005.

Sacrificial Ground. New York; Putnam, 1988.

Sandrine’s Case.  Mysterious Press, 2013.

Streets of Fire. New York; Putnam, 1989.

Tabernacle. Boston; Houghton, 1982.

Taken: A Novelization.  New York: Dell, 2000.


Moon over Manhattan.  New York:  New Millennium Press, 2002.