How To Search
Masterfile Premier

Provides full text from over 1,810 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,780 periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as of January 1984.

Searching

Fill in the bubble for "Standard Search". Type specific keywords that describe your topic in the "Find" box (exclude common articles and prepositions like a, an, the, with, from, of , in, etc. unless they are part of a well-known phrase). Follow these guidelines:

> Connect the keywords with either AND, OR, NOT.
Humans and growth
finds articles that contain both humans and growth.
Automobile or car
finds articles that contain either automobile or car.
Sports not football
finds articles that contain sports but not football.

> Put phrases in quotation marks.
Example: "Baseball Hall of Fame" finds articles that contain this exact phrase.
"due process of law" and courts
finds articles that contain the exact phrase "due process of law" and the keyword courts.

> Truncation: Use an asterisk on the root of a word to find many forms.
Example: Type swim* to find swim, swimmer, swimmers, swimming.

> To find more articles, check the boxes under Expand Your Search: To find less but more relevant articles, check the boxes under Limit Your Search:

> Check "Peer-Reviewed" to limit your search to scholarly and professional journals.

Improving Your Searches

> Click "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search" tab on the green bar near the top of the screen to limit your search to titles, authors, abstracts, cover stories, or images (pictures).

>Click the "Subjects" button in the green bar near the top of the screen to browse a list. Subject searching is recommended if you are unsure of which keywords to use in a search.

Viewing Full-texts of the Articles

Viewing Articles Online: Articles with texts available on the computer will have one of these two messages:

> HTML Full Text—click here and then scroll down to view the article’s text.
> PDF Full Text—click here to view the article in a PDF format.

Viewing Articles in Print: Some articles are not available online. Look in Libraries’ Catalog to see if the libraries own the journal containing the article:

> Click on the citation of the article that you would like.
> Scroll down and click "check for journal holdings".
> The journal will appear if the library owns it (If the library does not hold the journal, the red message "Your search resulted in no hits!" will appear).
> Scroll down to determine if the Library Has the appropriate month and year of the journal. (If multiple headings appear, click on the number of each heading to see if the library has the appropriate month and year.)
> Write down the Location and Call Number for the journal or magazine. Also, write down the citation—author, article title, journal title, publication date, and page numbers—from Masterfile Premier.
> Retrieve the article from the appropriate library.

Printing, Saving, Emailing

> For HTML Full Texts:

Printing:
> Click the "Print" button at the top of the article.
> Click the "Print" button.> Click "OK" on the pop-up window.
> To return to the list of articles: Click the "Back" icon at the top left of the article (Not the "Back" button on the browser bar). Click "ResultsList" to return to the list of articles.

Emailing:

>Click the "Email" button at the top of the article and then type in your email address. Click "Send"

Saving:

>Click the "Save" button at the top of the article.
>Click "Save" on the right side of the screen.
>Select "File" then "Save as" from your browser's toolbar above. Be sure to save as a plain text file (.txt) or an HTML file (.html).


> For PDF Full Texts: Click the printer or disk icon at the top left of the screen. Or, select the email feature at the top right of the screen.

Help

>Ask a librarian at the Information Desk in one of the campus libraries.
>Call the Libraries at (205) 348-6047