Go to The University of Alabama home page. Ask-A-Librarian | View Your Account | Search This Site spacer image
Back to the McLure Library home page
spacer imageFIND
spacer imageSERVICES
spacer imageABOUT MCLURE
spacer imageNEW & NOTABLE

Guide to Education Resources
at the University of Alabama


Introduction

The education collections in McLure Library support the efforts of faculty and students conducting research and study in the field of education and the programs in teacher education through the College of Education with specialized materials.

Table of Contents

Conducting Research in Education

Research Aids

Conducting Research in Education

Resources described in the following sections include electronic sources as well as book resources.

To locate books on a topic use the Libraries' catalog [http://library.ua.edu]. You can search by subject, as well as author, title, call number, etc. If you don't know the exact subject heading to enter, you can 1) consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings at the Reference desk, or 2) use the *BOL: (Boolean) option in the Libraries' catalog to do keyword searching without an exact subject heading.

If you find a citation for a book you need and University Libraries do not have a copy, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request on the second floor of Gorgas Library. You can also make an electronic Interlibrary Loan request.

To find information on a topic, the journal literature in education must be searched. Indexing and abstracting tools are available to help you identify articles published in several hundred academic journals. In the indexes and abstracts, individual articles can be located through detailed subject headings; an abstracting tool, in addition, includes a summary of the article.

Since education is such a wide field, almost all social science indexing and abstracting tools cover some aspect of education. Only the major titles for education are listed here, including those which are available in electronic format.

Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), 1969- Ref. Z 5813.C8 1969-
General index covering about 700+ journals; use with the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors (Ref. AI3.C82). Also available electronically as ERIC.

Education Index, 1929/32-
Ref. Z 5813. E23 1929/32-
General index using Library of Congress subject headings. Also available electronically as Education Abstracts.

Exceptional Child Education Resources, v.9 1977/78-
Ref. Z5814.C52 E9
Current special education publications/documents.

Higher Education Abstracts, 1984-
(Continues: College Student Personnel Abstracts, vol. 9-19, 1973-1984)
Ref. LB3605.C694

Psychological Abstracts, 1927-1995
Ref. BF1.P65 Gorgas Library Also available electronically as PsycINFO.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS), v.54-77, 1967 -1990
Available at Gorgas Library and electronically as PAIS.
Ref. Z7163.P9
Use for public areas of school administration, where public affairs intersects with education, etc.

Social Sciences Citation Index, 1970-
Ref. Z7161.S65 / Gorgas Library
Search for cited-author references.

Social Sciences Index, 1974-
Ref. AI3.S61 / Gorgas Library

Government Publications/Statistics

A great deal of important information about education, and for education, is produced through government sources.This section lists selective government resources which cover material from federal, state and international government agencies. Many of these sources are now available electronically on the Internet.

United States and International

Most government publications, particularly those from U.S. Federal agencies, are not included in the Libraries' catalog. Ask for help at the Information Center of the Gorgas Library.

American Statistics Index (ASI), 1966-
Ref. HA37.U55 G853 - Gorgas Reference
Indexes and abstracts of federal government statistical sources, including those from the National Center for Education Statistics.

Congressional Information Service (CIS), 1970-
Ref. KF49.C62 / Gorgas Reference
Indexes and abstracts to Congressional hearings, etc. Also available electronically.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-
Available electronically.

National Center for Education Statistics
Collects statistics on information furnished by school systems, institutions, and state and local agencies. Publications include:

Digest of Education Statistics, 1963-
Ref. L11.D48 Annual / Education Library

The Condition of Education
Ref. L112.N377a Annual / Education Library

Resources in Education (RIE), 1966-
Abstracting service for hard-to-find or limited distribution educational documents such as technical reports, conference papers, etc. These annual indexes are available in book form in the McLure Library Reference area. Documents are available on microfiche in the ERIC ED collection, which is located in the School Library section of McLure Library. Use with the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors (Ref. AI3.C82). Also available electronically. There is one stand-alone ERIC workstation in the McLure Library.

UNDOC: Current Index, 1979-83(bound) 1989-94 microfiche, available at Gorgas Library.

Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI)
Ref. Z5053.D57
The most comprehensive source for information on dissertations produced in the U.S. Also available electronically.

Basic Reference Sources

When doing extended research, you may wish to consult the sources in this section first for definitions, background information or to place your research in a larger educational context.

Research Aids

Useful publications for planning a research strategy and organizing and completing the research product.

American Higher Education: a Guide to Reference Sources, 1993
Ref. Z5815.U5.O44 1993 / Education Library

A Bibliographic Guide to Educational Research, 1990
Ref. Z 5811.B39 1990 / Education Library

A Guide to Sources of Educational Information, 1982
Ref. Z5811.W65 1982 / Education Library Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

American Educators' Encyclopedia, 1991
Ref. LB15.D37 1991 / Education Library
A ready-reference encyclopedia of names and terms frequently found in the literature of education.

Biographical Dictionary of American Educators, 1978
Ref. LA 2311.B54 / Education Library

Who's Who in American Education, 1997
Ref. LA 2311.W45 / Education Library

Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts: An Appraisal of Selected Ideas and Issues in Educational Theory and Practice, 1990
Ref. LB15.B29 1990 / Education Library
Broad concepts of education described and assessed.

Encyclopedia of Associations, 1997
Ref. HS17.G32 / Education Library (Gorgas Library has 1961-96 in retired stacks.)
Volumes for international and regional associations are also available. Also available online.

Encyclopedia of Education, 1971
Ref. LB15.E47 / Education Library
10 volumes covering approximately 1,000 topics.

Encyclopedia of Educational Research, 2001
Ref. LB15.E48 1992 / Education Library
Published every 10 years, updating research for the decade in many areas.

Encyclopedia of School Administration and Supervision, 1988
Ref. LB2805.E53/1988 / Education Library

Encyclopedia of Special Education, 2000 (3 vols.)
Ref. LC4007.E53 2000 / Education Library

Facts on File Dictionary of Education, 1988
Ref. LB15.S43 1988 / Education Library

International Encyclopedia of Curriculum, 1991
Ref. LB1570.I5676.1991 / Education Library
Two sections: Curriculum as a "Domain of Scholarly Inquiry" and "Specific Study Areas."

International Encyclopedia of Education: Research and Studies, 1994 2nd ed.
Ref. LB15.I569 1994 / Education Library
10 volumes with excellent coverage of educational systems in 160 countries.

International Encyclopedia of Higher Education, 1977 (10 vols.)
Ref. LB15.I57 / Education Library

International Higher Education: an Encyclopedia, 1991
Ref. LB 15.I59 1991 / Gorgas Library

World Education Encyclopedia, 1988
Ref. LB15.W87.1988 / Education Library
3 volume descriptive survey of national educational systems of the world.

Literature Reviews/Handbooks

These informational sources provide topical essays that survey current trends in educational research or overviews of important issues in a field.

Handbook of Educational Ideas and Practices, 1990
Ref. LB17.H267.1990 / Education Library

Handbook of Research on Educational Administration: a Project of the American Educational Research Association, 1999
Stacks LB 2805.H2864 1999 / Education Library

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education, 1995
Ref. LC1099.3.H35 1995 / Education Library

Handbook of Research on Teacher Education: A project of the Association of Teacher Educators, 1996
Ref. LB1715.H274 1996 / Education Library

Handbook of Research on Teaching, 1986
Ref. LB1028.H315.1986a / Education Library

Handbook of School Psychology, 1999
Reserve LB1051.H2356 / Education Library

Special and Remedial Education Research and Practices, 1995
Ref. LC3965.H263.1995 / Education Library

Review of Research in Education, 1973-
LB1028.R43 / Education Library Stacks
Review series published annually since 1973 and emphasizing current research.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are lists of resources which may be comprehensive or selective, may or may not be annotated, and are sometimes critical.

Adult Literacy: A Source Book and Guide, 1987
Z5814.5814.13 F73 / Education Library Stacks

The Financing of American Higher Education: a Bibliographic Handbook, 1984
Z 5814.U7 Q382 1984 / Education Library Stacks

Higher Education Bibliographic Handbook
Z5814.U7H53 / Education Library Stacks

Higher Education in International Perspective: Survey and Bibliography, 1985
Z 5814.U7 A43 1985 / Education Library Stacks

Key Resources on Community Colleges: a Guide to the Field and its Literature, 1986
Z 5814.J8 C58 1986 / Education Library Stacks

Key Resources on Higher Education Governance, Management, and Leadership: a Guide to the Literature, 1987
LB 2341.K45 1987 / Education Library Stacks

Key Resources on Teaching, Learning, Curriculum, and Faculty Development: a Guide to the Higher Education Literature, 1988
Ref. Z 5814.U7 M45 1988 / Education Library Reference

Research in Higher Education: A Guide to Source Bibliographies, 1985
Z 5814.U7 Q39 1985 / Education Library Stacks

Teacher Education Program Evaluation: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Research
Z5814.T3A97 / Education Library Stacks
There are bibliographies available in the reference area of Gorgas Library. To locate bibliographies for a particular topic, check the Libraries' catalog under the appropriate subject heading. Some will be located in the circulating stacks rather than in Reference.

Yearbooks

Yearbooks review developments in education or particular aspects of education.

Educational Media and Technology Yearbook, 1985-
Ref. LB1028.3.E37 / Education Library

International Yearbook of Education (UNESCO), 1948-69
L101.A2A63 / Education Library Stacks
Based on the biennial International Conference on Education, focusing on educational systems and trends.

Yearbook for the National Society for the Scientific Study of Education, 1902-1999
LB5.N25 / Education Library Stacks
Topical yearbooks sometimes published twice a year. Each yearbook has a distinct title.

Yearbook of Education Law, 1972-
Ref. KF 119.3 .Y4 / Education Library
The year's developments in legislation and court decisions regarding education.

World Yearbook of Education, 1979-
L101.G8Y4 / Education Library Stacks
British and international.

Directories

The College Blue Book, 3 volumes, 28th edition
Ref. LA 226v.C6852x 28th 2001 / Education Library
The standard professional reference on higher education since 1923.

HEP Higher Education Directory, 2001
Ref. L 901.E348x / Education Library

The National Faculty Directory, 1973-
Ref. L 901.N34 / Education Library, Gorgas Library

Peterson's Annual Guides/Graduate Study, 1984 -
Ref. L901.P46 / Education Library, v. 1-5
Covers programs in the humanities and social sciences; biological and agricultural sciences; physical sciences and mathematics; engineering and applied sciences; and business, education, health, and law.

Test Information

In addition to the major indexing and abstracting sources which provide much relevant test information, the following sources are basic compilations which should be consulted when trying to identify a test or when conducting an extended study of measurement in education.

Mental Measurements Yearbook, 2001
Ref. Z5814.P8B932.2001 / Education Library
Most comprehensive resource for reviews of standardized tests; 13 earlier yearbooks.

Test Critiques, 1984 (3 vols.)
Stacks BF176.T419.1984 / Gorgas Library
Extensive reviews of standardized tests in psychology, education and business.

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business, 1986, 1991
Ref. BF176.T43.1986, 1991, & 1997 / Gorgas Library

Test in Print III, 1983; IV, 1994; V, 1999
v. III Ref. Z5814.E9T47.1983 / Education Library;
IV and V, Gorgas Reference
An index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests; cross-referenced to The Mental Measurements Year Book.

Core Journals in Education

The following is a selected list of the research journals in education that are currently received by University Libraries.

Adult Education Quarterly
LC5201.A33 / Education Library

American Educational Research Journal
L11.A66 / Education Library

American Journal of Orthopsychiatry
RA790.A1A5 / Education and Main Libraries

Child Study Journal
LB1101.C43 / Education Library

Curriculum Inquiry
LB1570.C96 / Education Library

Educational Administration Quarterly
LB2805.A1E33 / Education Library

Educational Gerontology
LC5201.E353 / Gorgas Library

Educational Research Quarterly
L11/E273 / Education Library

Exceptional Children
LC3951.J6 / Education Library

Foreign Language Annals
PB1.F57 / Education Library

Gifted Child Quarterly
LC3991.G5 / Education Library

Harvard Educational Review
L11.H3 / Education Library

History of Education Quarterly
L11.H67 / Education Library

International Journal of Early Childhood
LB1140.A1I56/ Education Library

Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
QA11.A1J68 / Education Library

Journal of Aesthetic Education
N1.J58 / Education Library

Journal of Counseling and Development
HF5381.A1O45 / Education Library

Journal of Creative Behavior
BF408.J65 / Education Library

Journal of Economic Education
H62.5.U5J6 / Bruno Business Library

Journal of Education Finance
LB2825.J68 / Bruno Business Library

Journal of Educational Computing Research
LB1028.5.J614 / Bruno Business Library

Journal of Educational Research
L11.J75 / Education Library

Journal of Higher Education
L11.J85 / Education Library

Journal of Law and Education
K10.O873 / Education Library

Journal of Reading Behavior
LB1050.J62 / Education Library

Journal of Research in Science Teaching
Q181.A1J6 / Education Library

Journal of Special Education
LC4001.J6 / Education Library

Journal of Teacher Education
LB1705.N27 / Education Library

Language Learning
P1.L33/Gorgas Library

Learning Disability Quarterly
LC4704.L43x / Education Library

Oxford Review of Education
L16.O95 / Education Library

Psychology in the Schools
LB1101.P75 / Education Library

Reading Research Quarterly
LB1050.R42 / Education Library

Review of Educational Research
L11.R35 / Education Library

Russian Education and Society now
Soviet Education
L11.S82 / Education Library

Science Education
Q1.S385 / Education Library

Social Education
H62.A1.S6 / Education Library

Sociology of Education
L11.J76 / Education Library

Soviet Education now Russian Education and Society
L11.S82 / Education Library

Teachers College Record
L11.T4 / Education Library

Theory and Research in Social Education
H1.T47 / Education Library

Resources for Teacher Education

The resources described in the following sections include curriculum materials and other types of materials which support pre-service and in-service teachers in their classroom roles, but not necessarily as students of education.

Textbooks, curriculum guides and teaching activities texts are available at different locations within McLure Library.

Primary, elementary, and secondary levels are represented in the textbook collection.
Books which contain a variety of teaching activities and ideas for lesson planning are part of the collection. They are labeled as Curriculum Materials (Curr.Mat.Supp.) and arranged by general subject area. STATUS: Circulating

A collection of curriculum guides on microfiche, the Kraus Curriculum Development Library, is available in the School Library, in the microfiche cabinet. The collection covers 20+ subject areas for grades K - 12, Early Childhood Education, and Adult Basic Education.

LOCATION: In the Kraus cabinet beside the ERIC Documents, on the floor of the School Library area.
STATUS: Non-circulating. Copies can be made from original fiche. Microfiche readers and printers are available on the floor of the School Library area.

Handbook of Research on Teacher Education, 1996
Ref. LB1715.H274 1990 / Education Library
Circulating copy as well.

Patterson's American Education
Ref.L901.P3 / Education Library
Directory of secondary education, public and private. Latest edition is in Reference.

Patterson's Elementary Education
Ref.L901.P33 / Education Library
Directory of elementary education, public and private. Latest edition is in Reference.

Requirements for Certification
LB1771.W6 / Education Library
Latest edition is in Reference.

Core Media Collection for Elementary Schools / for Secondary Schools
Ref LB 1043.Z9.B75 / Education Library
Ref LB1043.Z9.B76 1979 / Education Library

Educators Guide to Free Filmstrips and Slides
Ref. LB1043.8.E4 1998 / Education Library
Earlier editions in book stacks.

Educators Guide to Free Videotapes
Elementary Ref. LB1049.Z9 E35 / Education Library
Secondary Ref. LB 1049. Z9 E38 / Education Library

Only the Best The Annual Guide to the Highest-Rated Educational Software and Multimedia
Ref. LB 1028.7. 054 / Education Library
Earlier editions in book stacks.

Recommended Videos for Schools
Ref. LB1044.75.R43 1991 / Education Library

 

©2007-2009 The University of Alabama
Last modified: 08/30/07
Comments about this site to: webmaster