The following databases are now using WebSPIRS:
- Biological Abstracts
- Geography
- GeoRef
- Books In and Out of Print
- CINHAL
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
- ERIC
- Library Literature
- MLA
- PAIS Index and Full Text
- PsycINFO
- Social Work Abstracts
- Ulrich's Periodical Directory
You must search the Libraries' catalog separately for call
numbers of materials found in these databases.
To Search:
- Click on the icon for the database that you would like to search.
- Choose which database you would like to search by clicking on the box in front of the name of the database.
- A checkmark should appear in the box.
- Click on "Open Selected Databases".
- The search screen will then be displayed.
- Type the terms you want to search in the box.
- You can search for the terms anywhere, as the title, as the author, or as the subject.
- It automatically is set for "words anywhere".
You can also limit your search by:
- Any year, 1997 to 1999
or
- you may enter a range of years.
There is also an option to limit the language of your search.
To begin the search, click on "Start Search" (in green).
The citations will be dislayed (10 at a time).
- The results list the author, title, publication year, and source (periodical title).
- There are hotlinks within the citations to authors, web pages, and periodical titles.
- Click on the blue hotlink to conduct a search on those items.
- To get to the next set of records, just click on "Next" at the top of the screen.
To print citations:
- Make sure that there is a checkmark in the box next to the citation.
- Click on "Print" at the top of the screen.
- The "Print Records" screen will appear. It asks first, what records you want to print?
- It should say "Marked Records", which will print all that you have put checkmarks by.
- It will then ask which fields you want to print? It should say "Displayed fields", which is more
than likely what you will want.
- Click "Print Records" (in green) at the top of the page.
- A message will appear, click OK, and another window will appear telling what will be printed.
- Go to File, then to Print.
- Click OK when the printing window appears, and another message will
appear.
- Click OK again and it will begin to print.
To e-mail citations:
- Just like in printing, make sure there is a checkmark in the box of those records you want printed.
- Click "E-mail" at top of screen.
- A screen will appear similar to that of the print screen.
- The first thing you will need to do is enter your e-mail address and a subject.
- The next two questions are exactly the same as the print screen.
- Click on "Mail Records" at the top of the screen(in green. A message should appear stating that your
records have been successfully mailed.
- After printing or e-mailing, click "Close Window" twice and then "Back to Search" if you want to do another search.
Limiting your search:
- Click on "Search Builder" to select the specific fields you want to search. Some examples of the fields include,
personal author, journal citation, document type, and title.
- You can combine terms in the first box with terms in first box with terms in the second box with the same options
for fields. Just choose and, or, or not in the middle between the two boxes.
- Back at the search screen, you can limit in other ways, by clicking on "Set Other Limits".
These limits include
- Publication year (PY)
- Country of Publication (CP)
- Target Audience (TA)
- Language (LA)
- Government Level (GL)
- Level of Availability (LV)
- Clearinghouse (CH)
- Source File (FI)
- Document Type Number (DTN)
- When using these limits to select more than one choice in a field, hold down the shift, ctrl, or command key and click.
- Click "Set Limits" when finished and it will then search automatically.
- If you no longer want to search with the limits, be sure to click on "Clear All Limits".
There are several buttons on the right side of the screen.
- "Help" contains information on WebSPIRS Basics, Searching with WebSPIRS, and Working with your search results.
- "Suggest" will find subject terms that might result in a better search. Just type the terms in the box and then click
on "Suggest Terms". Then put a checkmark in the box beside the terms that are more appropriate and click on "Search
Checked Terms".
- "Index" lists terms alphabetically or you can enter terms in the box. When you find what you are looking for, make sure
there is a checkmark in the box and click "Search Checked Terms" to search the terms.
- "Thesaurus" lists terms alphabetically or you can type the terms in the box. As always, make sure there is a checkmark in
the box next to what you want to search. Click on "Search Checked Subjects".
To exit the database, click on "Logout" and then close the next screen.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]