Finding Articles with
Academic Search Premier

Why would I use Academic Search Premier?
How do I start?
How do I search?
How can I get the actual article?
How do I print, save or email the article?


Why would I use Academic Search Premier?

I would use Academic Search Premier if I needed to find actual articles (we call that full text) from either scholarly (peer-reviewed or refereed journals) or non-scholarly (newspapers, magazines) sources. Articles in Academic Search Premier were published from 1984 to the present and cover a wide range of subjects, from art to mathematics to zoology. Some of the articles in Academic Search Premier are not full text; the articles that are not full text only have information such as article title and author (e.g., John Doe), source name (e.g., Time Magazine), volume, issue, date, and abstract (i.e., a summary of the article).

You (click here for a definition of "you") can access Academic Search Premier anywhere you have a computer and an Internet connection. For more information about finding articles, please visit http://www.lib.ua.edu/findarticles.htm.

Back to the top


How do I start?

1. Go to the Libraries' web site at http://www.lib.ua.edu and click on "Databases" under the "Search Menu." The Libraries' web site is your starting place for research.

Once at the Databases screen, you'll see an alphabetical list. You would simply go to the 'A' section and scroll down to Academic Search Premier.

Back to the top


How do I search?

Once you click on the Academic Search Premier link from the Database page, you'll see a screen and a search box:

Example search screen

To search effectively:

  • Connect keywords with AND, OR, NOT. For more information about AND, OR, NOT, see our short tutorial on Boolean Operators (You will need the Macromedia Flash Player to see this tutorial.)
    • Children AND music finds articles that contain both the words children and music.
    • Automobile OR car finds articles that contain either of the words automobile or car.
    • Sports NOT football finds articles that contain the word sports but not the word football.
  • Put phrases in quotation marks to force the database to find words in an exact order.
    • "Baseball Hall of Fame" finds articles that contain this exact phrase.
  • Use truncation to find many forms of a word with one root. The truncation symbol in Academic Search Premier and other EBSCOhost databases is an asterisk. For more information about truncation, see our short tutorial on Truncation (You will need the Macromedia Flash Player to see this tutorial.)
    • swim* will find swim, swimmer, swimmers, swimming.
  • Limit your search based on specific criteria, such as scholarly or peer reviewed journals.
    • At the bottom of the search screen, underneath the search box where you enter your terms, you can set a variety of limits:

Possible search limits in Academi Search Premier

Back to the top


How can I get the actual article?

Your results from a search will look similar to the following three citations. If your article is available full text from Academic Search Premier, you will have one of three possible buttons: HMTL Full Text, PDF Full Text, or Linked Full Text.

Full Text Options: One-stop shopping

HTML Full Text: generally contains no images; click "HTML full text" to see example

Example HMTL Full Text link Example of HMTL Full Text

PDF Full Text: an electronic duplication of the print, contains images; click "PDF Ffull Text" to see example

Example of PDF Full Text link Example of PDF Full Text

Linked Full Text: full text located in another EBSCO database or elsewhere; may either by HTML or PDF; click "Linked Full Text" too see example

Example of Linked Full Text link Example of Linked Full Text

If you do not see a full text button (HTML, PDF, or Linked Full Text), you will see a "Check for journal holdings" button. See the diagram below for an explanation.

Check for Journal Holdings: Two-stop shopping

The database will give you the necessary information to determine
if you want to find the article in the University of Alabama Libraries' Catalog:
Journal or Magazine Title, Volume, Number, Date, and Pages. Academic Search Premier provides a direct link, "Check for journal holdings," which takes you out of Academic Search Premier into the UA Libraries' Catalog. If the UA Libraries does not have a subscription to the journal you need, you can order an article via Interlibrary Loan.


Example of Check for journal holdings link Example records in Libraries' catalog

See our short tutorial on how to check the UA Libraries' Catalog.

Back to the top


How do I print, save or email the article?

You can print, save or email an article and/or citation. Here are a couple of useful tips.

General Tips

Always use the internal print, email and save buttons; do not use your brower's print function (i.e., do not go to file > print at the top of your screen). You can either print, email or save each article separately, or you can add articles to a electronic folder and print, email or save everything at once.

 

Tips for PDF Full Text

Printing, saving, or emailing PDF full text is a bit different than printing, saving, or emailing HTML full text. To print or save PDF full text, use the save and print functions within the Adobe Acrobat reader. Always use the internal print and save buttons; do not use your brower's print function (i.e., do not go to file > print at the top of your screen). To email the PDF full text, use the email button above the Adobe Acrobat reader; do not use the email function within the Adobe Acrobat reader (crossed out with a red "X" in the image above). You can also add PDF full text to your folder and print, save, or email it along with other articles at one time.

Back to the top