How To Search
Vocational Search

Provides full-text from over 170 vocational and general periodicals. Designed for vocational and technical curricula, also includes indexing abstracts for nearly 520 magazines, and 5,000+ Magill Book Reviews. Includes 4,000+ charts, tables, graphs. Updated monthly.

Getting Started

Simply click "Vocational Search" on the Libraries’ databases list.

Searching

> Connect descriptive keywords with AND, OR, NOT.
France and cheese
finds articles that contain both "France" and "cheese".
science or biology
finds articles that contain either "science" or "biology".
drama not film
finds articles that contain "drama" but not "film".

> Phrase Searching: Enclose terms in quotation marks to find an exact phrase.
Example: "due process of law" finds this exact phrase.

> Truncation: Use an asterisk to find various forms of a word.
Example: Type theat* to find "theater", "theaters", "theatre", and "theatrical".

> To find more articles, check the boxes under Expand Your Search:

> To find less articles, check the boxes under Limit Your Search:

> Click the "Advanced Search" button on the green bar at the top of the screen to limit your search to these types of materials: peer-reviewed articles, articles with images, cover stories, and articles with a specific number of pages.

Viewing Articles

Articles available for online viewing will have one of these messages:

> HTML Full-Text: Click on this message to see the article’s text.

> PDF Full Text: Click on this message to see the article in a PDF format.

> Check linked full-text sources: Click on this message to see the article’s text.

What if Voc. Search has the citation of an article but not the full-text?

Search in the Libraries’ Catalog for the title of the magazine containing the article:

>Click the Check for journal holdings message at the bottom of the article’s citation.
>Academic Search Elite will enter the Libraries’ Catalog. The journal will appear if the library holds copies of it. (If the Libraries do not own the journal, you will see the red message "Your search resulted in no hits!" in the Catalog)
> Scroll down to determine if the Library Has the appropriate month and year of the journal. (If multiple headings for the journal appear, click on each heading to see if any has the appropriate month and year.)
> Write down the Location and Call Number for the journal or magazine. Also, write down the citation—author, article title, journal title, publication date, and page numbers--from Academic Vocational Search.
> Retrieve the article from the appropriate library.

Printing, Emailing, Saving

For HTML Full Texts:

Printing:

> Click the "Print" button at the top of the article.
> Click the "Print" button on the browser bar.
> Click "OK".

Emailing:
>Click the "Email" button at the top of the article.

Saving:
>Click the "Save" button at the top of the article.
>Click "Save" on the right side of the screen.
>Select "File" then "Save As".