How To Search
Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection (Ebscohost) is a computerized database that contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles published from 1984 – present on topics useful for education professionals. You can print, save, or email the full-texts of many articles at your computer!

Searching

> Connect keywords with AND, OR, NOT.
Students and classroom management
finds articles that contain both students and classroom management.
Secondary or High School
finds articles that contain either secondary or high school.
Sports not football
finds articles that contain sports but not football.

> Put phrases in quotation marks.
Example: "learning disabilities" finds articles that contain this exact phrase.

> Truncation: Use an asterisk on the root of a word to find many forms.
Example: Type read* to find read, readers, reading.

> To find more articles, check the boxes under Expand Your Search: To find fewer but more relevant articles, check the boxes under Limit Your Search.

> Refine Search can be seen in the citation or full text view of the article. This option lets you search within the set of articles and limit by adding another subject term or keyword, full-text, date range, or other options.

> Check "Peer-Reviewed" to limit your search to scholarly and professional journals.

Super Searching

> Click "Guided Search" on the green bar near the top of the screen to limit your search to titles, authors, abstracts, cover stories, or images (pictures).

> Click the "Subject Searching" bubble in the blue bar near the top of the screen to browse a list. Subject searching is recommended if you are unsure of which keywords to use in a search.

Finding Full-texts of the Articles

Viewing Articles Online: Articles with texts available on the computer will have one of these two messages:

> Full Text—click here and then scroll down to view the article’s text.
> Full Page Image—click here to view the article in a PDF format.

Viewing Articles in Print: Some articles are not available online. Look in Libraries’ Catalog to see if the libraries own the journal containing the article:

>Click the Check for journal holdings message at the bottom of the article’s citation.

>Professional Development Collection will enter the Libraries’ Catalog. The journal will appear if the library holds copies of it. (If the Libraries do not own the journal, you will see the red message "Your search resulted in no hits!" in the Catalog)
> Scroll down to determine if the Library has the appropriate month and year of the journal. (If multiple headings for the journal appear, click on each heading to see if any has the appropriate month and year.)
> Write down the Location and Call Number for the journal or magazine. Also, write down the citation—author, article title, journal title, publication date, and page numbers--from Professional Development Collection.
> Retrieve the article from the appropriate library.

Folders

Professional Development Collection Database includes EBSCOhost's View Folder feature that lets you collect and manage a list of search results found during your current EBSCOhost session. EBSCOhost's View Folder feature lets you collect and manage a list of search results found during all searches in your current EBSCOhost session. You can use the folder to:

Printing, Saving, Emailing

Printing is free if you are using Professional Development Collection from off-campus. Printing costs 5 cents a page inside the Library, and you must use an Action Card to print. You can load Bama Cash on an Action Card at the Value Transfer Station in the Copy Room.

Printing or saving full-texts:

> Click the "Print" button at the top of the article’s text (or "Save" button).
> Fill in the bubble for "citation with formatted full text"
> Click the "Print" button again in the center of the page (or "Save" button).
> Click "OK" (If you are printing inside the Library, type in your name and pay for your print job at the printer station).

***To return to the list of articles: Exit the screen. Click the "Back" button in the center of the page. Click "Results List" to return to the list of articles.

Printing or saving full-page images: view the document and then click the printer icon at the top left of the article (or the disk icon for saving).

Emailing full-texts or full-page images:
>Click the "Email" button above the article’s citation.
>Fill in the bubble for "Citation with formatted full text" (Very Important: if your are emailing a full-page image, fill in the bubble for "Citation with page image" or you will not receive the article on your email account).
>Type in your email address and click "Email".
>Check your email account to make sure the articles were sent.

Help

>Ask a librarian at the Information Desk in one of the campus libraries.
>Call the Libraries at (205) 348-6047

>Connect with a librarian online at ….

 

***These instructions were current as of September 2002. However, Professional Development Collection can change at any time.