How To Search
Health Source:
Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition contains scholarly articles from journals on nursing, nutrition, medicine, holistic medicine, physiology, physical activity, and sports medicine. Computerized full-texts are available for many of the articles.
Getting Started
Click "Health Source: Nursing/Academic" on the Libraries’ database page.
Searching
Fill in the bubble for "Standard Search". Type specific keywords
that describe your topic in the "Find" box and follow these instructions:
> Connect the keywords
by typing either AND, OR, NOT between them.
osteoporosis and exercise finds articles that contain both words.
Exercise or activity finds articles that contain either or both words.
Disorders not heart finds articles that contain "disorders" but
not "heart".
> Phrase Searching: Enclose terms in quotation marks to find an exact
phrase.
Example: "ergogenic aids" finds articles with this exact phrase,
"ergogenic aids".
"Physical therapy" and salary finds articles that contain the exact
phrase "physical therapy" and the keyword salary
> Truncation: Use an asterisk to find various forms of a
word.
Example: Type injur* to find "injure", "injury", "injuries",
and "injured".
> To find more articles, check the boxes under Expand Your Search:
> To find less but more relevant articles, check the boxes under
Limit Your Search:
> Peer-Reviewed: Checkmark this box to limit your search to scholarly
articles.
Improving Searches
Click "Subject" or "Medical Dictionary" (green
buttons at the top of the screen) to help you define terms, determine the correct
spelling of term, browse a list, or find additional keywords to use in your
search. Subject is also useful in narrowing a topic. For example, you are studying
the liver and wish to narrow your search to one aspect of the liver. You click
"Subject", type in liver, and click "Browse". Your results
lists reveal subtopics like "Liver and aging", "Liver cancer"
and "Liver cells". You can click on any of these subtopics to find
articles about that subtopic.
Viewing Articles
Articles available for online viewing will have one of these
messages:
> HTML Full-Text: Click on this message to see the article’s
text.
> PDF Full Texts: Click on this message to see the article in a
PDF
format.
> Linked full-text sources: Click on this message to see the article’s
text.
What if Health Source has the citation of an article but not
full-text?
Some articles are not available online. Look in Libraries’ Catalog to
see if the libraries own the journal containing the article:
> Click on the citation of the article that
you would like.
> Scroll down and click "check library holdings".
>The journal will appear if the library owns it (if the library does not own
it, the red message "Your search resulted in no hits!" will appear)
>Scroll down to determine if the Library Has the appropriate month and
year of the journal. (If multiple headings appear, click on the number of each
heading to see if the library has the appropriate month and year.)
> Write down the Location and Call Number for the journal or
magazine. Also, write down the citation—author, article title, journal title,
publication date, and page numbers--from Academic Search Elite.
> Retrieve the article from the appropriate library.
Printing, Emailing, and Saving
> For HTML Full Texts:
Printing:
> Click the "Print" button at the top of the article.
> Click the "Print" button.> Click "OK" on the pop-up
window.
> To return to the list of articles: Click the "Back" icon at the
top left of the article (Not the "Back" button on the browser bar).
Click "ResultsList" to return to the list of articles.
Emailing:
>Click the "Email" button at the top of the article and then type
in your email address. Click "Send"
Saving:
>Click the "Save" button at the top of the article.
>Click "Save" on the right side of the screen.
> Select "File" then "Save as" from your browser's toolbar
above. Be sure to save as a plain text file (.txt) or an HTML file (.html).
> For PDF Full Texts: Click the printer or disk icon at the
top
left of the screen. Or, select the email feature at the top right of the screen.
Help
>Ask a librarian at the Information Desk
in one of the campus libraries.
>Call the Libraries at (205) 348-6047