How To Search
Education Full-Texts

Education Full-Text offers abstracts or full-texts to thousands of articles, book chapters, dissertations, and reports related to preschool--college education, educational administration, technology in education, government funding, adult education, and teaching. Coverage: 1983-present.

Getting Started

> Simply click on "Education Full-Text" on the Libraries’ database list.

Basic Searching

> Connect words with AND, OR, NOT.
Examples: education and funds finds articles that contain both education and funds.
college or university
finds articles that contain either college or university.
colleges not Alabama
finds articles containing colleges but not Alabama.

> Enclose phrases in quotation marks.
Example: "tenure review"

> Use an * on the root of a keyword to find variants of the word.
Example: teach* finds teach, teacher, teachers, and teaching.

Improving Searches

>Limiting: Using the drop-down menu under "Words Anywhere", you can limit your search to a particular journal or author.

>Special Features: Notice that users can limit their search to scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles, full-texts, or a certain publication year. Under "Article type", users can also limit to a certain type of article such as a speech, interview, do-it-yourself work(lesson plan), or book review.

>Click the green "Browse" button on the right side of the screen if you prefer to browse a list of subjects or journal titles. Browse is useful when you are unsure of what keywords to use in a search.

Viewing Texts of the Articles

Articles with online full-texts will have a camera or paper icon next to the citation. Click on the citation’s title and then select either "HTML" or "Full-page image" to view the text. If the citation does not have a camera or paper icon, see the information below.

When the Full-Text is not available online

Search in the Libraries’ Catalog for the title of the journal containing the article:

> Minimize Education Abstracts (or print out the citation)
> Click on the Libraries’ Catalog and select "Basic Search".
> Type in the name of the journal or magazine (not the title of the article).
> Highlight "Journal Title" from the "Find Results in" menu.
> Click "Search". The journal will appear if the library owns it.
> Scroll down to determine if the Library Has the appropriate month and year of the journal. (If multiple headings appear, click on each heading to see if the library has the appropriate month and year.)
> Write down the Location and Call Number for the journal or magazine

Printing, emailing, and saving

One Citation: Click on the title. If the citation has a full-text, click on "HTML" at the top of the citation to display the full-text. Then, click either the "Print", "Save" or "Email" bullets at the top of the screen.

Many Citations: Mark the records that you wish to print, email, or save. Click "Show Marked" at the top of the page. Then, click either the "Print", "Save" or "Email" bullets at the top of the list.