How To Search
Ebscohost Databases
(Academic Search Elite, MasterFile Premier, Business Source Elite, Primary Search, Vocational Search, Health Source Plus, Professional Development, ERIC, Ethnic News Watch, Health Source Nursing Academic Edition)
Ebscohost databases contain articles from nearly 1,850 newspapers, magazines, and journals on a broad range of subjects: humanities, social sciences, health, general reference, business, science, ethnic news, animals, vocations, and current news. Computerized full-texts are available for articles published from 1990-present; citations and summaries are available for articles published from 1984-1990.
Getting Started
Click "Ebscohost" on the Libraries database list.
Checkmark all of the Ebsco databases that you would like to search.
Click "Continue" at the bottom of the page.
Searching
> Connect descriptive keywords with AND, OR,
NOT.
France and cheese finds articles that contain both "France" and
"cheese".
science or biology finds articles that contain either "science"
or "biology".
drama not film finds articles that contain "drama" but not "film".
> Phrase Searching: Enclose terms in quotation marks to find an exact
phrase.
Example: "due process of law" finds this exact phrase.
> Truncation: Use an asterisk to find various forms of a word.
Example: Type theat* to find "theater", "theaters",
"theatre", and "theatrical".
> To find more articles, check the boxes under Expand Your Search:
> To find less articles, check the boxes under Limit Your Search:
> Click the "Advanced Search" button on the green bar at the top
of the screen to limit your search to these types of materials: peer-reviewed
articles, articles with images, cover stories, and articles with a specific
number of pages.
Viewing Articles
Articles available for online viewing will have one of these messages:
> HTML Full Text: Click on this message to see the article’s
text.
> PDF Full Text: Click on this message to see the article in
a PDF format.
> Check linked full-text sources: Click on this message to see the article’s text.
> Full-Text from EDRS: Click here to retrieve the full-text. If you have trouble retireving the full-text, please ask a librarian.
What if Ebscohost has the citation of an article but not the full-text?
Search in the Libraries’ Catalog for the title of the
magazine containing the article:
> Click on the citation of the article that you would like.
> Scroll down and click "check for journal holdings".
> The journal will appear if the library owns it
> Scroll down to determine if the Library Has the appropriate month
and year of the journal. (If multiple headings appear, click on the number of
each heading to see if the library has the appropriate month and year.)
> Write down the Location and Call Number for the journal or
magazine.
Printing and Emailing
> HTML Full Text:
Printing:
> Click the "Print" button at the top of the article.
> Click the "Print" button.
> Click "OK" on the pop-up window.
> To return to the list of articles: Click the "Back" icon at the
top left of the article (Not the "Back" button on the browser bar).
Click "ResultsList" to return to the list of articles.
Emailing:
>Click the "Email" button at the top of the article and then type
in your email address. Click "Send"
Saving:
>Click the "Save" button at the top of the article.
>Click "Save" on the right side of the screen.
>Select "File" then "Save as" from your browser's toolbar
above. Be sure to save as a plain text file (.txt) or an HTML file (.html).
> PDF Full Text: Click the printer or disk icon at the top
left
of the screen. Or, select the email feature at the top right of the screen.
What if I cannot find any information?
Ask a librarian at the Information Desk. You can
also call us at 348-6047.
We will be very happy to help you!