How To Search
Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective and Art Full-Text provides citations, abstracts, and some full-texts from art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through present . They cite sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as in English. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography.In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Getting Started
Click on "Art Index Retrospective" on the Libraries’ database list.
Basic Searching
> Type one keyword or phrase in each line. Connect
the keywords and phrases with AND, OR, NOT, NEAR.
Piccaso and cubism finds an article containing both Picasso and cubism.
Drawings or sketches finds an article containing either drawings or sketches.
Architecture not gothic finds an article containing architecture but not gothic.
Art near preservation finds an article with both words in the same sentence.
> Enclose phrases in quotation marks
"interior design" finds an article containing this exact
phrase.
> Use an asterick on the root of a keyword to find forms with various
endings.
Art* finds art, artistic, artist, and artists.
> If necessary, use parentheses to organize long search strings.
Design and (paints or colors) finds articles about design and either paints
or colors.
Advanced Searching
> Users can focus
searches by scrolling down to the Article Type: and using the drop-down
menu.Limiting allows the users to focus searches on peer-reviewed journals
and specific document types such as art reproductions, book reviews, feature
articles, motion picture reviews, obituaries, television program reviews, videotape
reviews.
Example: you want to find reproductions of "Starry Night" in journals
or books. You limit your search to "art reproduction" and type in
"Starry Night" in the search box. Your search results in citations
to reproductions of "Starry Night" but not articles or reviews.
Finding Copies of the Articles
Many articles now offer online full-texts. These articles are designated by a camera or paper icon next to the article’s citation. You can click on the article’s citation and then select either "HTML" or "Full Image PDF" at the top of the page to view the article.
To find copies of other articles, you must look in the Libraries’ Catalog to see if the campus libraries own the journal containing the article:
> Minimize
Art Full-Text (or print out the citation)
> Click on the Libraries’ Catalog and select "Basic Search".
> Type in the name of the journal or magazine (not the title of the
article).
> Highlight "Journal Title" from the "Find Results in"
menu.
> Click "Search". The journal will appear if the library owns it.
> Scroll down to determine if the Library Has the appropriate month
and year of the journal. (If multiple headings appear, click on each heading to
see if the library has the appropriate month and year.)
> Write down the Location and Call Number for the journal or
magazine
Printing, emailing, and saving
Checkmark the records that you want to print, email, or save.
Printing: Click the Print icon at the top of the page. Fill out the questions and then click "Display to Print" Click "Print" on the top browser bar and then click "OK".
Emailing: Click the Email icon at the top of the page. Fill out the questions. Click the "Mail" button at the bottom.
Saving: Insert a disk in the computer. Click the Save icon at the top of the page. Fill out the questions and click the "Save" button at the bottom. Select "A drive" from the "Save in" menu. Click "Save".
Help
> Ask
a librarian at the Information Desk in one of the campus libraries.
> Call the Libraries at (205) 348-6047