The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
13 matches found
W
WARC All Full Text
Coverage: Advertising case studies (mid-1990's - current); Adspend data (1981 - 2011).
Description: WARC features a large collection of successful marketing and advertising case studies, complete with videos and print ads from the campaigns. Also includes news sources, academic journals, and trade publications related to advertising, Adspend data sets, and market trend research.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business, Communications
Material Type: Full Text, Maps, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Web of Science Some Full Text
Coverage: Varies by subject area Search Tips
Description: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Chemistry, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science, Engineering, General-purpose Databases, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Nursing & Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Psychology, Science, Social Work
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1824-1900
Description: The Wellesley Index is an author index to 45 major Victorian periodicals. Most periodical literature in this period was published anonymously or pseudonymously. The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of these works and provides complete tables of contents for each journal. The contents are indexed by both author and pseudonym. This online edition includes the Curran Index of corrections and additions to the original text, and is cross-searchable with the database British Periodicals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: The Western European Studies Section (WESS) is part of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association. WESS is professionally involved in the acquisition, organization, and use of inforamtion sources originating in or related to Western European countries. Our aim is to promote the improvement of library services supporting study and research in Western European affairs from ancient times to the present.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: German Language & Literature
Material Type: Book Reviews, Catalogs, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Who's Who All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: A source of biographical information on 1.2 million persons from all professions and walks of life. Also includes historical biographies of deceased individuals from Who Was Who in America 1607-present. Limited to 1 simultaneous user. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Wiley Online Library Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1995-current
Description: For the sciences, business, and education. Includes journals and books in the areas of business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, engineering, law, life and medical sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, and psychology.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Chemistry, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science, Engineering, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health, Psychology, Science, Sociology
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1600-2000
Description: Full-text of published histories and records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries. It includes The History of Woman Suffrage (6 volumes, 1881-1922); proceedings of the national conventions of female Anti-Slavery societies in the 1830s; proceedings of women’s rights conventions in the 1850s and 1860s; annual reports of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union; and local and national histories of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs. Each year, an additional 10,000 pages of material will be added.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Gender & Women's Studies
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1840-present
Description: This collection of primary resources documents international women’s social movements from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. Included are conference proceedings; reports of international women's organizations; publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organization; and letters, diaries, and memoirs.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Women’s Wear Daily All Full Text
Coverage: 1994-current
Description: Women's Wear Daily (WWD), a property of Fairchild Fashion Media, is a daily media of record and an industry voice of authority for senior executives in the global women's and men's fashion, retail and beauty communities and the consumer media that cover the market. Often referred to as "the fashion bible," WWD provides a balance of timely, credible business news and key fashion trends to a dedicated readership of retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, Wall Street analysts, international moguls, media executives, ad agencies, trend-makers and socialites.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
World dataBank All Full Text
Coverage: 1960 - 2008 and continuing
Description: World dataBank includes World Development Indicators, the primary World Bank database for development data from officially recognized international sources. Provides time series for hundreds of economic and social indicators. World Bank has now made its databank freely available over the Internet.
Access: www
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1963-present
Description: WSB provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1963 and 2006. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 118 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Book Reviews, Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
WorldCat No Full Text
Coverage: Updated daily Search Tips
Description: Union catalog containing bibliographic information on 40+ million items (books, scores, films, maps, and other formats) held in thousands of academic, public, and other libraries around the world. Broad in scope with records dating to the 12th century. Can be used to verify citations, locate an item in another library, or to provide accurate citation information for interlibrary loan requests. (Does not include citations to individual articles, stories in periodicals, or book chapters).
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, Library Science
Material Type: Catalogs, Dissertations and Theses, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1851-1875
Description: Wright American Fiction provides the full text of novels published in the United States from 1851 to 1875. Based upon Lyle Wright’s bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875, this free Internet resource includes 2,887 volumes by 1,456 authors.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available