The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
28 matches found
P
PapersFirst No Full Text
Coverage: 1993-current, updated bi-monthly
Description: Over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Parliamentary Papers All Full Text
Coverage: 1801-2004
Description: “The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) are the most detailed primary source for the past two centuries, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. They are a major part of the historical record. The Parliamentary papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for ideas for hundreds of thinkers, among them Marconi, Keynes, and Beveridge. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.”
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Passport All Full Text
Coverage: Historic and forecast statistics from 1977-2016; 5-year historic market size data, plus 5-year forecasts.
Description: Passport is a comprehensive system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers, with statistics covering 200 countries and historical and forecasted data. Includes lifestyle indicators and analysis, market analysis, company profiles and market shares. Requires on-campus authentication.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Past Masters All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Past Masters is a searchable collection of texts by major philosophers and literary figures. Philosophers include Aristotle, Austin, Ayer, Berkeley, the Continental Rationalists, Descartes, Hume, Leibniz, Locke, Plato, Spinoza, and Wittgenstein. Literary figures include Austen, Blake, Coleridge, Edgeworth, Shelley, Wordsworth, and other writers of the Romantic period. The database reproduces definitive print editions of these authors’ works.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, Philosophy
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1665-1995
Description: Index to millions of articles published in humanities and social sciences periodicals. Limited to 25 simultaneous users. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), General-purpose Databases, Psychology
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Perseus Digital Library Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Initially a database of Greek and Latin classical texts, Perseus has evolved into a digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. In additional to the extensive classical collections, the database also includes texts relating to the English Renaissance, the history of London, the history of science, and American regional history.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Classics
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Philosopher's Index (NAAL) Some Full Text
Coverage: 1940-current
Description: Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese. It also includes complete coverage of international articles from anthologies and books written in English and other languages. Includes all major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic (including mathematics), metaphysics (including philosophy of mind, existentialism, and phenomenology), political philosophy (including philosophy of law), social philosophy, and the philosophy of education, history, language, science and religion.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics, Gender & Women's Studies, Philosophy
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
Physical Education Index Some Full Text
Coverage: 1970 to present
Description: This database provides abstracts that feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education, Nutrition & Health
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Antiquity-present
Description: Play Index Online provides the publishing information needed to locate a play in the variety of ways it is available: published as a separate title or in an anthology or collection. Included are links to Web sites that can contain full text, criticism, and other useful information. Search over 30.000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index Online is searchable by title, author, subject, style, genre, and cast type. Limited to 1 simultaneous user. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Available
Poole's Plus Some Full Text
Coverage: Nineteenth Century.
Description: An index to nineteenth century literature. Contains the noted indexes: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, New York Times Index, Palmers Index to The Times, Harper's Magazine Index, Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications, and others. See 19th Century Masterfile.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Genealogy, History
Material Type: Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Primary Search (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Indexing, 1984-present; Full text, 1990-present.
Description: Primary Search provides the full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Primary Search now includes the Encyclopedia of Animals (formerly EBSCO Animals).
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: K-12 Resources
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Maps
Scout Coverage: Available
ProceedingsFirst No Full Text
Coverage: 1993-current
Description: Over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Professional Development Collection (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1984-current
Description: Specialized collection of citations, abstracts, and full-text articles and images for education professionals. Covers topics from Children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice from 500+ professional development titles.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education, Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Project Euclid All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Full-text searching, reference linking, interoperability through the Open Archives Initiative, and long-term retention of data are all important components of the project.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Mathematics
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Project Gutenberg All Full Text
Coverage: Before 1923 (updates vary).
Description: The Project Gutenberg Philosophy is to make information, books and other materials available to the general public in forms a vast majority of the computers, programs and people can easily read, use, quote, and search. It includes classic literature such as Aesop's Fables, Alice in Wonderland, Moby Dick, Paradise Lost. Historical documents such as inaugral addresses and treaties are included, as well as, the Magna Carta, Declaration of Independence, and the U.S. Constitution. Included in the collection are reference works such as, Roget's Thesaurus and the CIA Factbook, as well as, almanacs, census data, and works continaing mathematical constants. Religious documents such as the Bible and the Book of Mormon are also included.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Project MUSE All Full Text
Coverage: Varies by title, with strongest coverage from approximately 2000 to the present.
Description: Project MUSE provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and nearly 100 university presses and other not-for-profit publishers.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Art (History and Studio), Classics, Gender & Women's Studies, General-purpose Databases, German Language & Literature, History, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Philosophy, Psychology, Religious Studies, Russian, Sociology, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Proquest Civil War Era All Full Text
Coverage: 1840-1865
Description: Primary source about the American Civil War and the sectional controversies leading up to the war. Offers several key newspapers. This resource is especially rich in pamphlets which expressed radical, alternative opinions on the issues of the era.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1844-pesent
Description: Historical U.S. Corporate Annual Reports comprising some 800 Fortune 500 and selected other companies from 1844 to the present.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Current access includes: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); The Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); The Baltimore Sun (1837-1986); The Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1988); The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1991); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); The Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); The New York Times (1851-2008); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1994); and The Washington Post (1877-1995).
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communications, Genealogy, History
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ProQuest Newspapers Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies. Many from 1990s - current
Description: Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Communications, General-purpose Databases, International Studies, Political Science, Social Work
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1986-Present
Description: Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 525 titles, with over 470 titles in full-text in nursing and allied health. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source covers over 70 wide-ranging topics.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Dissertations and Theses, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
PsycARTICLES (NAAL) All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: PsycARTICLES provides over 39,000 full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all material from the print journals except for ads and editorial board lists.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, Psychology, Social Work
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
PsycCritiques Some Full Text
Coverage: 1995-present
Description: PsycCRITIQUES, a searchable database that replaced the American Psychological Association’s print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books in December 2004, provides full text reviews of current books and some popular films, comparative reviews of books, reviewer bio and photo, and book cover image, as well as a backfile of approximately 4,000 reviews from 1995-2003.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Psychology
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Available
PsychiatryOnline.com All Full Text
Coverage: Varies
Description: Included in PsychiatryOnline.com are the following journals: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, American Psychiatry, The Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience, and Psychosomatics. Also included are the following books: DSM-5 TR®, DSM-5 TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5TR® Clinincal Cases, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats, and The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Psychology, Social Work
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
PsycINFO (NAAL) Some Full Text
Coverage: 1887-present
Description: Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communicative Disorders, Human Environmental Studies, Psychology, Religious Studies, Social Work
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Public Affairs Index No Full Text
Coverage: Varies by publication - mid- 1940’s to current
Description: Public Affairs Index (PAI) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Area Studies, International Studies, Latin American Studies, Political Science, Social Work
Material Type: Book Reviews, Government Information, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1815-1930
Description: Publishers' Bindings Online, 1815-1930: The Art of Books provides virtual access to a collection of decorative book bindings from the 19th and early 20th century, along with new and creative scholarship, research and teaching materials for the study and appreciation of the book.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), Communications, Education, History
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Digital Images, E-Books, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
PubMed Some Full Text
Coverage: mid-1960's-present
Description: PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Biology & Agriculture, Communicative Disorders, Human Environmental Studies, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health, Science, Social Work
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available