The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
14 matches found
O
OECD iLibrary All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Statistical databases and select publications of the OECD. Provides extensive data on 33 market-democracy, member countries. Includes a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labor, migration, R&D, trade and society.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
OED Online (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 volume 3).
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
OnePetro All Full Text
Coverage: Coverage varies.
Description: OnePetro.org is a multi-society digital library that provides access to a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering, Geology
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
OneSource [ReferenceUSA] All Full Text
Coverage: Varies. Five-year historical financials on global public companies. Ten-year trade journal archive.
Description: Integrates U.S. and international company and industry profiles and analyst reports from a variety of global sources. Combines facts and figures with news and articles. To get to OneSource, first go to the ReferenceUSA database home page; click on International Businesses on the left.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1984-current
Description: Bibliography of geographical publications.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Opera in Video Primarily Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Opera in Video offers performances of 290 works from baroque to contemporary, with staged productions from important opera houses, including La Scala, Royal Opera House, Glyndebourne, and San Francisco Opera. Also included are concert performances and interviews by well-known opera stars. Videos include searchable subtitles. Playlist functionality enables users to create clips.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Theater and Dance
Material Type: Digital Images, Music
Scout Coverage: Available
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: 2002-current
Description: Access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on social issues.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, General-purpose Databases, Social Work
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1200-2000
Description: Database of 500,000 biographies of men and women who have shaped British history. Restrictions: 3 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, History
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Scout Coverage: Available
Oxford English Dictionary (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 volume 3)
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, Linguistics
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Oxford Handbooks Online All Full Text
Coverage: 2004-2013
Description: The 325+ Oxford Handbooks in this online edition provide topic overviews and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship for a wide range of topics. Subject areas include Architecture, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religious Studies
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: Oxford Islamic Studies Online brings together current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and will be regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved under the guidance of the Editor in Chief, John L. Esposito.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Religious Studies
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: OLDO offers online bilingual dictionaries for French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese. Supplemental features include audio pronunciation by native speakers; click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts; guidelines for grammar and usage; sample letters, CVs and resumes; notes on life and culture; and links to external sites for further research.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: French, German Language & Literature, Italian, Linguistics, Russian, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Oxford Music Online All Full Text
Coverage: updated regularly
Description: Electronic version of the twenty-eight-volume, second edition of the Grove Music Dictionary of Music and Musicians (copyright 2001); with updates. Contains over 29,000 articles; includes full text searching, browsing by subject, and links to images, digital sound, and related sites.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Oxford Reference Online Premium (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: The Oxford Reference Online Premium collection contains reference books covering a wide variety of topics; dictionaries of architecture, plants, geography, literature, mathematics, mythology, and many others. Includes the popular “Oxford Companion” series.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available