The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
21 matches found
H
HathiTrust Some Full Text
Coverage: pre-1500 through 21st century
Description: HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Included are more than 10 million total volumes, 5 million book titles, and 200,000 serial titles. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law. HathiTrust catalog records are included in Scout, but not in the Libraries’ Catalog.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Anthropology, Classics, English, French, General-purpose Databases, German Language & Literature, History, International Studies, Italian, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish & Portuguese, Theater and Dance
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Music, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: Health and Society in Video is a collection of streaming documentaries focusing on health issues and their impact on society. Covers topics such as pediatric AIDS, breast cancer, the Obama administration’s healthcare plan, addiction, hospice care, Alzheimer’s disease, organ donation, malnutrition, access to healthcare, and other issues. At completion, the collection will include 500 hours of documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews—from producers such as Fanlight Productions, BBC, PBS, Point du Jour International, and Aquarius Healthcare Media.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies, Nutrition & Health
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
Health Source - Consumer Edition (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: c. 1985-current
Description: With Health Source - Consumer Edition you can search for information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source -Consumer Edition features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Health Source: Nursing/Academic (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: c. 1990-present
Description: Provides over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals. This product offering also includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary - providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from a number of journals related to the field of nursing.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Communicative Disorders, Human Environmental Studies, Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
HeinOnline Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies depending on the material. Some materials date from the 1700s to the present.
Description: Hein Online provides access to the full-text of legal periodical articles, Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General opinions, treaties and international agreements, and the Federal Register. Documents are available as photocopy-equivalent PDF files.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Law
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1808-1998
Description: Hispanic American Newspapers is fully searchable, full-text compilation of more than 350 Spanish-language or Spanish-English bilingual newspapers printed in the U.S.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Anthropology, Communications, History, Latin American Studies, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1970-present
Description: HAPI is an index to more than 275,000 journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History, Latin American Studies, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Historical Abstracts (NAAL) Some Full Text
Coverage: 1960-current
Description: A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, History, Latin American Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: 1844-present
Description: Historical U.S. Corporate Annual Reports comprising some 800 Fortune 500 and selected other companies from 1844 to the present.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1636-2000
Description: This reference work includes data on topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Fully searchable, this resource permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Criminal Justice, Education, History, International Studies, Law, Political Science, Social Work, Sociology
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
History Reference Center (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: BC - current
Description: History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for nearly 60 leading history periodicals; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
History Vault All Full Text
Coverage: Dates vary by collection
Description: History Vault is a collection of primary source material pertaining to the civil rights movement and to U.S. foreign policy during the Vietnam War era. This rich collection of federal records, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries is organized in five subject categories: 1) Black Freedom Struggle; 2) NAACP Papers; 3) Slavery and the Law; 4) Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; and 5) Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, History
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: “The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets identified by CHDS master's degree participants and instructors.”
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Hoover's Online (NAAL) All Full Text
Coverage: Current. Updated throughout the day.
Description: In-depth profiles of approximately 15,000 public and private companies in the U.S. and the world, plus information on initial public offerings, industry snapshots, and business news.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Partially Available
Coverage: 1965-Present
Description: Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This index combines the records of three collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia. Publications include Hotel & Motel Management, Journal of Leisure Research, Nation's Restaurant News, and many more. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1801-2004
Description: “The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) are the most detailed primary source for the past two centuries, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. They are a major part of the historical record. The Parliamentary papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for ideas for hundreds of thinkers, among them Marconi, Keynes, and Beveridge. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.”
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: All
Description: HRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. It is designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
HRAF World Cultures All Full Text
Coverage: All
Description: HRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The growing HRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1907-1984
Description: Indexes scholarly journals as well as non-scholarly specialized periodicals in the Humanities & Social Sciences from 1907-1984. Limited to 2 simultaneoud users. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, Religious Studies
Material Type: Biographies, Book Reviews, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Humanities E-Book All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Humanities E-Book or HEB (formerly known as History E-Book Project) uses a fully integrated, cross-searchable format to provide access to more than 1500 e-book titles. HEB is expanding to include most humanities disciplines and area studies.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Humanities International Index (NAAL) Some Full Text
Coverage: 1975-present
Description: Humanities International Index provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 journals. Cover-to-cover indexing includes not only scholarly materials, but also essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Index includes everything indexed in the American Humanities Index.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio), English, Religious Studies, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available