The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
16 matches found
G
Gale Virtual Reference Library (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Gender Watch All Full Text
Coverage: 1970-present
Description: GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Gender & Women's Studies, Sociology
Material Type: Biographies, Book Reviews, Full Text, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
General OneFile (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1980-present
Description: A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental I ssues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Includes millions of full-text articles many with images. Updated daily.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
General Reference Center Gold (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: 1980-present
Description: A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
GEOBASE Some Full Text
Coverage: Coverage from 1980 onwards
Description: GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database with bibliographic information and abstracts, plus some full text, for geography, development studies, earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, and oceanography. The database covers almost 2,000 international journals.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture, Geography, Geology
Material Type: Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
GeoRef Some Full Text
Coverage: 1785-current
Description: The database of the American Geological Institute (AGI). Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. Corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and Bibliography and Index of Geology. Organizes and indexes papers from over 4,500 serials and other publications representative of the interests of the 20 professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Geology, Science
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
GeoScienceWorld All Full Text
Coverage: Coverage varies, with some content from 1931-present
Description: A full-text database of journals in the geosciences, plus GeoRef.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Geology
Material Type: Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Global Insight All Full Text
Coverage: Current. Updated daily.
Description: Formerly known as World Markets Country Analysis and Forecast. Up-to-date news and risk analysis of approximately 200 countries and spanning some 170 industries. Provides analysis of economic, financial and political situation.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business, Political Science
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Historic and forecast statistics from 1977-2016; 5-year historic market size data, plus 5-year forecasts.
Description: GMID, now called Passport GMID, is a comprehensive system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers, with statistics covering 200 countries and historical and forecasted data. Includes lifestyle indicators and analysis, market analysis, company profiles and market shares. Requires on-campus authentication.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Global Plants All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Global Plants (plants.jstor.org) is a community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. http://about.jstor.org/global-plants
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Biology & Agriculture
Material Type: Digital Images, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Google Scholar Some Full Text
Coverage:
Description: Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 15th century to present
Description: This electronic version of the most recent print edition of Le Grand Robert provides comprehensive coverage of the French language from the 15th century to the present. Entries include etymology, history, pronunciation, synonyms, antonyms, and usage of French words.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: French
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
GreenFILE Some Full Text
Coverage: 1913-present
Description: GreenFILE is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE’s initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage – from to volume 1, issue 1 to present – for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: American Studies
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
GREENR All Full Text
Coverage: ~1980-present (some earlier)
Description: Greener is a multimedia database that provides academic and reference content pertaining to sustainability and the environment. Contents include academic articles, news, background information, conference proceedings, commentary, primary source documents, statistics, maps, images, and videos.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies
Material Type: Book Reviews, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Digital Images, Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Grove Music Online All Full Text
Coverage: updated regularly
Description: Electronic version of the twenty-eight-volume, second edition of the Grove Music Dictionary of Music and Musicians (copyright 2001); with updates. Contains over 29,000 articles; includes full text searching, browsing by subject, and links to images, digital sound, and related sites.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Available
Guide to Reference No Full Text
Coverage: Current
Description: The electronic Guide to Reference constitutes the 12th edition -- and the first electronic version -- of a resource first published in 1902. The current edition indexes 16,000 print and web reference sources, selected and annotated by a network of specialist librarians in a wide variety of subject areas. Both print and electronic resources are indexed; electronic resources are linked to the Guide and print sources can be searched through an interface to WorldCat’s Find in a Library feature. Brief annotations are provided for each entry, and the Guide includes longer introductory articles in each subject category. The Guide has several customizing functions; a user can set up a free personal account that will make it possible to save searches, create lists, add personal notes.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, Library Science
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available