The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
25 matches found
E
Coverage: 1639-1820
Description: Early American Imprints is a comprehensive collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in America from 1639 to 1820. It includes two cross-searchable collections (Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, and Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1820) and is cross-searchable with other parts of America’s Historical Imprints.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications, English, Genealogy, History
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1690-1876
Description: Digitized versions of early American Newspapers from The American Antiquarian Society, private collections and The Library of Congress, Brown, Harvard, et al. Based on the microfilm collection of the same name.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications, General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1534-1850
Description: Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among Native American, African and European peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. Using diaires, memoirs, letters, travel accounts and other primary sources, this collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from many people, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1473-1700
Description: Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, and the Thomason Tracts.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1473-1700
Description: The Text Creation Partnership (TCP), a joint project of the University of Michigan, the University of Oxford, the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR), and ProQuest Information and Learning, provides accurate, searchable text for a portion of the EEBO content and page-by-page links to the scanned documents in EEBO. Currently, about 16% of the EEBO content has been keyed in.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: c. 1455-1700
Description: Early European Books is a multidisciplinary collection of materials published in Europe or in European languages, c. 1455-1700. Drawn from the collections of major European libraries, the first three components of this ongoing project include founding works of modern sciences; accounts of travel, exploration and warfare; major works of the Italian Renaissance; almost 1,200 volumes of Incunabula; works of the Church Fathers, the Protestant Reformation, and the Counter-Reformation; and many influential works of literature and philosophy.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics, French, German Language & Literature, History, Italian
Material Type: Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
EBSCOhost (AVL) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Varies by database
Description: EBSCOhost is a collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. EBSCOhosts provides full-text coverage of more than 2,500 journals, and abstracting and indexing of many more. Also included are full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Available
EconLit Some Full Text
Coverage: 1969-current
Description: Citations and abstracts of economic literature. Covers 400 journals, as well as working papers, dissertations, books, proceedings, and more. Abstracts are provided for about half of the recent entries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Primarily Full Text
Coverage: Abstracts, 1994-current;Full-text, 1996-current
Description: Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. Limited to 5-8 simultaneous users. Use is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communicative Disorders, Education, Human Environmental Studies
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Available
Education in Video All Full Text
Coverage: 2008-present
Description: Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection provides teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms at completion, providing education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles. The collection also provides course, study, and discussion guides; assessment checklists; and themed playlists, giving education faculty ready-to-use teaching tools.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: All
Description: HRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. It is designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
eHRAF World Cultures All Full Text
Coverage: All
Description: HRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The growing HRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology
Material Type: Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1700s
Description: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digitized library of approximately 188,000 titles, representing most of the significant English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and the colonies during the eighteenth century. Subject access to this collection is provided by the British Library’s online English Short Title Catalogue (see database entry for English Short Title Catalogue).
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, History
Material Type: Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
EIU.com All Full Text
Coverage: 1996-current
Description: Also known as EIU Country Intelligence, this database includes current information on business conditions in countries throughout the world. Regional newsletters provide articles on business activity, economic conditions, and political risk. Country Commerce describes requirements for doing business abroad, including local regulations and information on the commercial environment.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1995-current
Description: A searchable database of a growing collection of journals in a variety of subject areas. Searching across multiple journals and browsing within journals is possible. Bibliographic information is available for all journal issues. Full-text articles, including original text and image content, are available for issues included in the institution subscription.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage:
Description: Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States from pre-colonial days to the present. Included are 800+ articles, with accompanying bibliographies, related websites, illustrations, and other supplemental materials.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 2nd edition, 2005.
Description: Online encyclopedia of statistical methodologies and applications covers statistics, probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in many disciplines.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 500AD—1914AD
Description: English Historical Documents Online is a comprehensive collection of documents on British history covering the years 500 to 1914, selected and indexed by historians from the University of London’s Institute of Historical Research. Sources include treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, diaries and more. Each section of documents and many of the documents themselves are accompanied by editorial commentary. The sources cover a wide spectrum of topics, from political and constitutional issues to social, economic, religious as well as cultural history.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Catalogs, E-Books, Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1473-1800
Description: The online English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a free website from the British Library, provides bibliographic records for all surviving letter press material published in the British Isles and North America before 1801. The project includes materials from the British Library and more than 2,000 participating institutions, with holdings information noted in the bibliographic records. The full text of many works listed here is included in the databases Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO). ESTC complements EEBO and ECCO by providing more comprehensive bibliographic records and more in-depth subject/genre access.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: English, History
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ENGnetBASE Some Full Text
Coverage: 1999-present
Description: Consists of a compilation of essential engineering information, including data, facts, figures, graphs, equations, illustrations, and charts. It covers the disciplines of general engineering, structural engineering, mobile communications, remediation engineering, optomechanical engineering, measurement, instrumentation and sensors, communications, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, technology management, digital signal processing, environmental engineering, and civil engineering. NOTE: The UA Libraries only subscribes to the following four engineering collections: Civil Engineering Collection; Electrical Engineering Collection; Mechanical Engineering Collection; and Telecommunications Collection.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Engineering
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1880-2000, varied
Description: Full-text archive of many important magazines documenting the early days of the film, television and popular music industries. Notably, includes Billboard (1894-2000), Variety (1905-2000), and The Stage (1880-2000).
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications, Theater and Dance
Material Type: Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
ERIC (EBSCO : Online) (AVL) Some Full Text
Coverage: 1966-current
Description: Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 950,000 articles and documents from 1966 onward.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communicative Disorders, Education, Human Environmental Studies, Social Work
Material Type: Book Reviews, Dissertations and Theses, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Available
Ethnic NewsWatch (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage: January 31, 1985-current
Description: Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Included is coverage of issues in Ireland, Israel and the Middle East, Mexico, Bosnia, Armenia, China, Nigeria, and the Ukraine, among other countries. This collection or articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. attempts to provide alternative viewpoints on current issues. Updated monthly, Ethnic NewsWatch consists of full-text articles from nearly 200 publications, with over 125,000 articles in Spanish.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Communications, Gender & Women's Studies, Latin American Studies
Material Type: Biographies, Book Reviews, Full Text, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals
Scout Coverage: Not Available
EThOS Some Full Text
Coverage: Varies.
Description: Indexes theses written in participating colleges and universities the United Kingdom. Some of the full-texts are free; others are available for a fee.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1639-1800
Description: Based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Communications, English, Genealogy, History
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available