The University of Alabama
Database Search Result
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)
16 matches found
D
Dance in Video No Full Text
Coverage: 1950-2000
Description: Dance in Video is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos—comprising 500 hours of high-caliber content.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Theater and Dance
Material Type: Digital Images
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage:
Description: The Dictionary of American Regional English documents regional differences in the English language as spoken in the United States. Sources include interviews, diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, government documents, and newspapers. This online edition offers multiple access points, interactive maps, and audio files of interviews conducted in more than 1,000 communities around the U.S.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: American Studies, Linguistics
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1000-1920
Description: Explore the history of Canada's inhabitants and their culture, thanks to the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online . There, you will meet people who played an important role in the formation of what is now Canada.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Genealogy
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Dictionary of Literary Biography (AVL) All Full Text
Coverage:
Description: The Dictionary of Literary Biography is the online version of the series with the same name. The DLB provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, French, Italian, Spanish & Portuguese
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1200-current
Description: Database of 500,000 biographies of men and women who have shaped British history. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, History
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1100-present
Description: The Dictionary of the Scots Language (DSL) comprises electronic editions of the two major historical dictionaries of the Scots language: the 12 volume dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (DOST) and the 10 volume Scottish National Dictionary (SND). DOST contains information about Scots words in use from the twelfth to the end of the seventeenth centuries (Older Scots); and SND contains information about Scots words in use from 1700 to the 1970s (modern Scots). Together these 22 volumes provide a comprehensive history to Scots, and a New Supplement (2005) brings the record of the language up to date.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Linguistics
Material Type: Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 16th-17th Century
Description: The Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts brings together a large collection of Christian texts from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. In addition to theological writings, the collection includes confessional documents, biblical commentaries, polemical treatises, catechisms, and liturgical works.16th-17th Century
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History, Religious Studies
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 16th-17th Century
Description: Reproduced here are hundreds of printed documents pertaining to the Counter-Reformation: papal documents, synodal decrees, catechisms, confessors’ manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises, sacred drama, liturgical works, inquisitorial manuals, preaching guides, accounts of saints’ lives, and devotional works.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History, Religious Studies
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1867-1970
Description: Sanborn fire insurance maps are large-scale maps containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures, including information such as building outlines, size, shape and construction materials, heights and function of structures, location of windows and doors. Maps also include street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, pipelines, railroads, wells and dumps.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History
Material Type: Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
DigiZeitschriften All Full Text
Coverage: Varies by title
Description: DigiZeitschriften is a full-text collection of core German research journals in a wide range of subjects: arts, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics, and science. The database includes extensive back files, but no recent issues.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: German Language & Literature
Material Type:
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: 1980-current
Description: The IMF Direction of Trade Online database contains time-series data from 1980 forward. Provides data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. Presents bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national and regional levels. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business, Political Science
Material Type: Statistics
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Dissertations & Theses Some Full Text
Coverage: 1861-current: 1995-present full text
Description: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Formerly Digital Dissertations) includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U. S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Art (History and Studio), Biology & Agriculture, Chemistry, Communications, Education, Engineering, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage: Varies, 1920s-current
Description: Current Research @ the University of Alabama, a companion database to ProQuest Digital Dissertations, includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the University of Alabama. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Chemistry, Education, Mathematics
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts
Scout Coverage: Available
Coverage:
Description: A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Access: WWW
Primary Subjects: Genealogy
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps
Scout Coverage: Not Available
Coverage: Varies
Description: DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) provides on-demand streaming access to audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources
Scout Coverage: Not Available
DSM Legacy Collection All Full Text
Coverage: Editions I-IV
Description: The DSM Legacy Collection contains the I –IV editions of the DSM: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders in .pdf format.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communicative Disorders, Psychology, Social Work
Material Type: E-Books, Reference Sources and Tools
Scout Coverage: Not Available