May 2008
What is LexisNexis Academic?
LexisNexis Academic provides access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources, including full text resources, television and radio transcripts, directories, government information and statistics. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and current stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. This database covers a wide range of topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations.
LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. User can utilize the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
What kinds of questions can be answered with LexisNexis Academic ?
- What are the experts’ predictions about the effects of proposed tax cuts on gas prices in the United States?
- What are the current issues surrounding recent incidents of professors making course reading materials digitally available for students to download and print?
- What does current research say about the financial security, outcomes and practices of current college students given today’s financial conditions in the United States?
- What effect has the economy had on the lending market for school loans?
Who is the audience for LexisNexis Academic?
LexisNexis Academic is a great resource for general information due to its very broad subject scope. This database is an excellent resource for the seasoned researcher looking for something specific, as well as an effective information source for novice researchers in either an academic or public setting.
HELP is always available!
When searching in any of the library's databases, please remember that help is always available from the "Help" link in the upper right-hand corner. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to either use this help feature or to Ask-a-Librarian for assistance.
For more information, please contact your subject librarian.
©2007-2009 The
University of Alabama
Last modified:
05/01/08
Comments about this site to: webmaster