The University of Alabama
Previously Featured Database (December 2008)
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

December 2008

 

Television News Archive

 

What is the Television News Archive?

Television News Archive  from Vanderbilt University focuses on creating, preserving and providing access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks. Vanderbilt has created recordings of news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks, preserved the content for future generations, and provided the widest access possible within the copyright limitations.

The collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, and daily news programs from CNN since 1995. Vanderbilt began recording from FoxNews in 2004. Abstracts of each story within a regular news program, which are fully searchable in the TV-NewsSearch database, are also included. News programs in the collection include:

  • ABC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present.
  • ABC Nightline: March 24, 1980 - September 12, 1988 Occasional Coverage.
  • ABC Nightline: September 12, 1988 - present: Comprehensive Coverage.
  • CBS Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present.
  • NBC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present.
  • FoxNews Reports: January 15, 2004 - Present.
  • CNN:
    • WorldView: October 2, 1995 -November 3, 2000.
    • Wolf Blitzer Reports: February 1, 2001 - December 31, 2001.
    • NewsNight: November 5, 2001 - Oct 28, 2005.
    • Anderson Cooper 360: November 1, 2005 - present.

The Archive's collection includes news coverage of significant events broadcast outside the scope of the regular evening news programs. This part of the collection focuses on the U.S. presidential politics, including political conventions, election coverage, and speeches and press conferences of the President currently in office. The Special Reports collection also includes coverage of major national and world events and major military conflicts involving the U.S. Abstracts are not availble for items within the collection of Specials. Searchable records for each of these programs is available in TV-NewsSearch. Some of the major items in the collection of Special Reports include:

  • Each Republican and Democratic political convention since 1968 and corresponding election coverage.
  • Each televised State of the Union Address since 1968.
  • Most major speeches given by U.S. Presidents since 1968.
  • Presidential news conferences.
  • Coverage of the American hostage crisis in Iran.
  • Coverage of the first Persian Gulf War.
  • Coverage of the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.
  • Coverage of the War in Afganistan.
  • Coverage of the War in Iraq.

 

What can you see in the Television News Archive? 

Users can watch news programs about many of the key events that have shaped our country and our culture, including:

  • Student unrest at Columbia University in 1968.
  • Watergate Congressional hearings in the 1970s.
  • The 1978-79 peace talks and treaty between Egypt and Israel.
  • Space shuttle Challenger explosion and press coverage of 1986.
  • Persian Gulf War discussions and coverage in the 1990s.
  • Coverage and discussions of the contested presidential election of 2000.
  • Current coverage and discussions of the 2008 market meltdown and bailouts.
  • 2008 election press coverage, including press conferences from major candidates.

 

What should you know about Television News Archive? 

 

For copyright reasons, not all recordings are available online.  However, Vanderbilt will compile and send videotapes of broadcasts or segments not available online for a fee based on half-hour units.  Users requesting this service must create apersonal account. For more information on this service, visit the Vanderbilt Television News Archive website and click on theRequesting Videos tab.

 

 

HELP is always available!

When searching in any of the library's databases, please remember that help is always available from the "Help" link in the upper right-hand corner. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to either use this help feature or to Ask-a-Librarianfor assistance.

 

                                For more information, please contact your subject librarian.