Databases

(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)


11 matches found:
L

Coverage: 1808-1922
Description: This full-text collection of 19th- and 20th-century Latin American newspapers includes more than 35 titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Latin American Studies
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
 Primarily Full Text  LegalTrac (AVL)  
Coverage: 1980-present
Description: Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers. Included are articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation. Also included are: British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Law, Social Work
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information
 Some Full Text  LGBT Life with Full Text  
Coverage: 1967-present
Description: Provides abstracts and citations to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender literature published worldwide. Citations represent periodical articles, books, newspapers, newsletters, case studies, speeches, and other formats. The National Information Services Corporation’s Sexual Diversity Studies and One National Gay & Lesbian Archives contributed information held in LGBT Life. Lesbian Herstory Archives of the Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation will assist with further development of the database. Depth of coverage varies by source. Also, includes full text for 50 LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text books.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Social Work, Women's Studies
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Coverage: 1905-1983
Description: Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective (1905-1983) is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. This is a companion database to Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Library Science
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
Coverage: 1980-current
Description: A bibliographic database that indexes more than 229 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere from 1984 to the present. Books, chapters within books, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Library Science
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text, Scholarly Journals
Coverage: Mid 1960s-present
Description: Bibliographic database providing free coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online info retrieval, information management and more.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Library Science
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources
Coverage:
Description: "Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings, from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews, that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC." --WebSpirs Database Guides
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Classics, Communications, Communicative Disorders, English, French Language & Literature, German Language & Literature, Italian Language & Literature, Russian Language & Literature, Spanish/Portuguese Language & Literature
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts
 Primarily Full Text  Literature Online (LION) Search Tips
Coverage:
Description: A fully searchable Library of more than 330,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, and key criticism and reference resources.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, French Language & Literature, Italian Language & Literature, Spanish/Portuguese Language & Literature, Theatre & Dance
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
 Primarily Full Text  Literature Resource Center (AVL) Search Tips
Coverage: Ancient world to the present.
Description: The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis (criticisms) of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement, or literary themes or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path. Also includes work overviews and and plot summaries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: English, French Language & Literature, German Language & Literature, Italian Language & Literature, Russian Language & Literature, Spanish/Portuguese Language & Literature, Theatre & Dance
Material Type: Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals
 Some Full Text  LitFinder  
Coverage: Antiquity to the present
Description: LitFinder, formerly PoemFinder and StoryFinder, provides indexing and some full-text access to a wide range of poetry, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches in anthologies. Also included are biographical essays, work overviews, and topic overviews. The database can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, character name, author’s gender or ethnicity, publication date, document type, or genre.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
 Some Full Text  LLBA  
Coverage:
Description: "Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings, from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews, that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC." --WebSpirs Database Guides
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Anthropology, Communications, Communicative Disorders, German Language & Literature, Russian Language & Literature
Material Type: Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts

Information about Access to and Usage of Databases

Browse Alphabetical List

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z   0-9

or

Display All Databases


University Libraries • Box 870266 • Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0266
©2012 The University of Alabama