Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a
new search.)
Coverage:
1000-1920
Description:
Explore the history of Canada's inhabitants and their culture, thanks to the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online . There, you will meet people who played an important role in the formation of what is now Canada.
Access:
WWW
Primary Subjects:
Genealogy
Material Type:
Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage:
Description:
The Dictionary of Literary Biography is the online version of the series with the same name. The DLB provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
English, French Language & Literature, Italian Language & Literature, Spanish/Portuguese Language & Literature
Material Type:
Biographies, Full Text
Coverage:
1200-current
Description:
Database of 500,000 biographies of men and women who have shaped British history. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
History
Material Type:
Coverage:
1100-present
Description:
The Dictionary of the Scots Language (DSL) comprises electronic editions of the two major historical dictionaries of the Scots language: the 12 volume dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (DOST) and the 10 volume Scottish National Dictionary (SND). DOST contains information about Scots words in use from the twelfth to the end of the seventeenth centuries (Older Scots); and SND contains information about Scots words in use from 1700 to the 1970s (modern Scots). Together these 22 volumes provide a comprehensive history to Scots, and a New Supplement (2005) brings the record of the language up to date.
Access:
WWW
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage:
1980-current
Description:
The IMF Direction of Trade Online database contains time-series data from 1980 forward. Provides data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. Presents bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national and regional levels. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Business, Political Science
Material Type:
Statistics
Coverage:
1861-current: 1995-present full text
Description:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Formerly Digital Dissertations) includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U. S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Anthropology, Art (History and Studio), Biology & Agriculture, Chemistry, Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communications, Communicative Disorders, Education, Engineering, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Theatre & Dance
Material Type:
Dissertations and Theses
Coverage:
Varies, 1920s-current
Description:
Current Research @ the University of Alabama, a companion database to ProQuest Digital Dissertations, includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the University of Alabama. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Chemistry, Education, Mathematics
Material Type:
Dissertations and Theses, Indexes and Abstracts
Coverage:
Description:
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Access:
WWW
Primary Subjects:
Genealogy
Material Type:
Biographies, Digital Images, E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps