Databases

(Scroll down or click to enter a new search.)


28 matches found:
C

Coverage: Varies
Description: Subscription includes access to the following directories: Accounting; Economics and Finance; Management; Marketing; Educational Curriculum and Methods; Educational Psychology and Administration; Educational Technology and Library Science. Available information includes addresses, phones, e-mails and web sites for listed journals to assist as a point of reference when preparing to publish a manuscript. Links are also provided directing users to guidelines and submission information.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases
Material Type: Directories, Reference Sources and Tools
 All Full Text  Cambridge Collections Online  
Coverage: N/A
Description: Included here are the following publications from Cambridge University Press: Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics (250+ titles); Cambridge Companions to Religion, Philosophy and Culture (150+ titles); and Shakespeare Survey (all volumes). The individual works are fully cross-searchable by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Classics, English, Philosophy & Religious Studies
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text
 All Full Text  Cambridge Histories Online  
Coverage: Varies
Description: Today, the Cambridge Histories encompass over 200 authoritative volumes in a vast range of topics, including: Political Thought, American Foreign Relations, Ancient History, Japan, Iran, Medieval History, Science, Africa, Modern Britain, Russia, Native Peoples of the Americas, Irish Literature, Latin America, Pacific Islanders, Literary Criticism, The English Language, British Theatre, Music, African and Caribbean Literature, China, Judaism. This vast collection of leading scholarly content, representing the most authoritative historical research, is now available electronically for the first time and exclusively through Cambridge Histories Online.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: History, Latin American Studies
Material Type: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, E-Books, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage: 3000 B.C. to present
Description: A premier resource of high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Art (History and Studio)
Material Type: Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
Coverage: July 1976-present
Description: An index of materials produced by the federal government from 1976 to the present.
Access:  
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources
 All Full Text  CCH Internet Tax Research Network  
Coverage: Updated continuously. Coverage varies by source.
Description: Web access to the complete text of important state and federal tax materials; codes, regulations, cases, rulings, editorial explanations, and so on. Searchable by code section, keyword, or citation.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Business
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Reference Sources and Tools
 All Full Text  CenStats  
Coverage: Current
Description: Collection of statistical resources from the Census Bureau databases. Databases include: census tract street locator, international trade data, building permits, zip code business patterns, financial data for state and local schools and governments, USA counties, occupation data by race, Hispanic origin, and sex, annual survey of manufactures, etc.
Access: WWW 
Primary Subjects: Social Work
Material Type: Government Information, Reference Sources and Tools, Statistics
 All Full Text  CHEMnetBASE  
Coverage:
Description: Chemistry handbooks online.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering, Physics
Material Type: Full Text
 All Full Text  Children's Literature Review  
Coverage: The series covers the entire time span of the production of children’s literature, from Aesop to the present.
Description: Children’s Literature Review is a compilation of excerpts from reviews, criticism, and commentary on major authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Entries aim to present blanaced overviews of a writer’s work, or in some cases, of one major title, including biographical information, listings of works and awards, and excerpts from critical articles and commentaries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education
Material Type: Book Reviews, Full Text
Coverage: 1993-present
Description: Comprehensive coverage of children's books, reviews, awards and teaching materials. Reviews 3,000 books annually covering 24 sources since 1993.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education, K-12 Resources
Material Type: Book Reviews, Catalogs, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools
 All Full Text  Chronicle of Higher Education, The  
Coverage: 1989-present
Description: Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. The Web site is updated throughout the day with the latest news in academe (NO EMBARGO of content). Also included are the text from the current print edition, posted every Monday morning; a searchable archive of back issues; all the commentary and essays from the weekly magazine, The Chronicle Review; all the data from the annual Almanac and other special, single-topic reports in easy-to-search databases; online "extras" such as slide shows, podcasts, and video.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Education
Material Type: Full Text
 Primarily Full Text  CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
Coverage: 1937-present
Description: CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides authoritative coverage for over 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Nursing & Medicine, Nutrition & Health
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Indexes and Abstracts, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
Coverage: 1860-1865
Description: This database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A major effort also has been made to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day. These include such topics as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, and the like
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: African-American Studies
Material Type: Historical/Primary Resources
 No Full Text  Clase Periodica  
Coverage: Clase 1975-present, Periodica 1978-present
Description: Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Combines CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades), which indexes indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities (over 1,200 sources) and PERIODICA, which covers journals specializing in science and technology (over 1,400 sources). Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
 All Full Text  Classical Music Library  
Coverage:
Description: Classical Music Library is the world's first classical music collection for listening on computers in the library and at home. Includes 12,000-plus recordings plus 1000's of program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users. Note: System Requirements for the optimum experience - an audio-enabled computer, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 or later, Windows Media Player v8 or later.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Music
Material Type: Biographies, Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
 Some Full Text  Cochrane Collection Plus  
Coverage: Varies
Description: Cochrane Collection Plus is the most comprehensive collection of databases from the Cochrane Library. Cochrane Collection Plus is an essential source of high quality health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession. Cochrane Collection Plus combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects(DARE) and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. All databases in Cochrane Collection Plus are published by Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Nursing & Medicine, Social Work
Material Type: Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools, Scholarly Journals, Statistics
 All Full Text  Collected works of John Dewey, 1882-1953  
Coverage: 1862-1953
Description: Contains the complete text of Dewey's work as it appears in the thirty-seven volume printed edition published by Southern Illinois University Press between 1967 and 1990.
Access: McLure Library
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: E-Books, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources
 Primarily Full Text  Communication & Mass Media Complete  
Coverage: 1915-present
Description: CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, selected coverage of over 100 more, and fulltext for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Communicative Disorders
Material Type: Book Reviews, Indexes and Abstracts, Scholarly Journals
Coverage: 1952-present
Description: A full text database of over 12,800 articles from journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, intercultural communication, television, film and media studies, rhetoric and written communication.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Communications, Communicative Disorders
Material Type: Full Text
 Some Full Text  Compendex  
Coverage: 1884-current
Description: Provides abstracts and citations for engineering and technical literature published worldwide from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and monographs.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
Coverage: Varies. Some reports form 1996 forward.
Description: Authoritative research reports on topical business subjects including: Executive and Director Compensation, Human Capital, Economies and Markets, Corporate Leadership, and more. Also includes articles from The Conference Board Review magazine.
Access:
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
 Some Full Text  Congressional  
Coverage: 1789-present
Description: Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including the full text of Congressional documents, reports, and hearings as well as CRS reports on timely issues.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Law
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information
Coverage: 2004-present
Description: The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, provides non-partisan, analytical research and reference service to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover a variety of public policy topics, including agriculture, the environment, foreign relations, military expenditures and conflicts, as well as the workings of the U.S. government.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type:
 All Full Text  Congressional Serial Set  
Coverage: 1789-2003
Description: The U.S. Serial Set includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress. The Serial Set captures American life from the late 19th century onward from westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Full Text, Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Statistics
 All Full Text  Contemporary Authors (AVL)  
Coverage: Early 20th century-present
Description: A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for more than 90,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Biographies, Full Text, Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage: 1968-current
Description: Comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Criminal Justice, Social Work
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts
 No Full Text  CRL Databases  
Coverage: Varies by collection
Description: The Center for Research Libraries is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries committed to making rare scholarly resources available to scholars. The vast CRL holdings, which are available by interlibrary loan, include foreign governments; foreign doctoral dissertations; textbooks; pre-1975 college catalogs; serials from the Russian Federation and former Soviet republics; and scientific research materials. In addition, the Center maintains numerous subject collections pertaining to the history and literature of countries throughout the world. Six area studies microfilming projects cover Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Slavic and Eastern European countries.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Material Type: Catalogs, Digital Images, Dissertations and Theses, Historical/Primary Resources, Maps, Newspapers, Reference Sources and Tools
 No Full Text  Current Index to Statistics (Temporarily unavailable)  
Coverage: 1975-present
Description: Indexes articles on statistics from over 1300 journals, most since 1975. Also includes about 11,000 books.
Access: UA, Remote
Primary Subjects: Mathematics
Material Type: Indexes and Abstracts

Information about Access to and Usage of Databases

Browse Alphabetical List

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z   0-9

or

Display All Databases


University Libraries • Box 870266 • Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0266
©2012 The University of Alabama