Databases
(Scroll down or click to enter a
new search.)
Coverage:
1700s
Description:
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digitized library of approximately 188,000 titles, representing most of the significant English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and the colonies during the eighteenth century. Subject access to this collection is provided by the British Library’s online English Short Title Catalogue (see database entry for English Short Title Catalogue).
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
History
Material Type:
Digital Images, Historical/Primary Resources
Coverage:
Nineteenth Century.
Description:
An index to nineteenth century literature. Contains the noted indexes: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, New York Times Index, Palmers Index to The Times, Harper's Magazine Index, Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications, and others.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
Genealogy, History
Material Type:
Government Information, Historical/Primary Resources, Indexes and Abstracts, Newspapers
Coverage:
1800-1899
Description:
19th Century UK Periodicals is a multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. Subscription only to Series 2. Few of the materials in this online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original colour work has been captured. Part 2: Empire covers the role Britain played beyond its own borders as an imperial power throughout the nineteenth century. Complete runs of 91 periodicals chart a century in which Britain extended its influence, reaching new heights of empire building. Sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and the National Library of Australia, the collection contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
History
Material Type:
Historical/Primary Resources, Reference Sources and Tools
Coverage:
Dates vary between titles throughout the 19th century
Description:
Covers a wide variety of American newspapers, both major and minor, from the 19th century. Includes everything from major news, editorials, sports, and classified, as well as advertisements.
Access:
UA, Remote
Primary Subjects:
American Studies, Communications
Material Type:
Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Historical/Primary Resources, Newspapers
University Libraries • Box 870266 • Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0266
©2012 The University of Alabama